How to make a change

First and foremost is vote!

The essential part of a healthy democracy is an informed and engaged electorate. Learn about the issues, and researched the candidates and the policies that they support. Then register to vote and of course be sure to vote on election day.

How to register

Before you can vote you must be registered. If you have not voted in some time or are not sure you that are registered you should confirm your registration status. It is important to know that the registration deadline this year for the primary is February 10, 2020, for the general election in November it is Monday October 12, 2020. You can confirm, register, and get more information on voting and voter registration on our state’s Virginia Department of Elections website.

Or you can confirm registration status or register at our local registrar office.


Sabrina Smith

367 Virginia Ave

PO Box 8

Appomattox, VA 24522-4016

Phone: 434-352-5302

Fax: 434-352-4409

Registrar Hours:

Monday: 08:30 - 16:30

Tuesday: 08:30 - 16:30

Wednesday: 08:30 - 16:30

Thursday: 08:30 - 16:30

Friday: 08:30 - 16:30

Here is a Quick Voter Guide PDF document for Appomattox residents to assist you.


Lastly you need to vote and make your voice heard. Some important deadlines if you are voting absentee. Requesting your ballot by mail is due by Tuesday 25, 2020 by 5:00pm. You must mail absentee ballots by March 3, 2020 by 7:00pm.

Voting at the polls on primary day will be on Tuesday March 3, 2020 from 6:00am to 7:00pm. To find you polling place you can call the Registrar's office listed above, or view the map on the Appomattox County website, or lastly at the Virginia Department of Elections website.

Know your ballot

Click on the thumbnail image to preview your ballot

Democratic Party Presidential Primary

Note that a number of candidates are listed on the March 3rd primary ballot but have dropped out of the presidential campaign. The current list of active candidates are as follows.

  • Cory Booker
  • Julian Castro
  • Bernie Sanders
  • Elizabeth Warren
  • Marianne Williamson
  • Michael Bennet
  • Joseph R. Biden
  • Amy Klobuchar
  • Tulsi Gabbard
  • Deval Patrick
  • Pete Buttigieg
  • Andrew Yang
  • Tom Steyer
  • Michael R. Bloomberg